top of page

It's Been Too Long





What can I say? I haven't blogged for about 3 months ~ I blame Covid Fatigue for my lack of inspiration on here.













One thing I know about myself is that routine bores me. Doing the same thing over and over and over...I loose motivation. Trouble is, with the COVID situation and various rules to abide by, the variety in life has gone out the window. The mental stimulation of going to the cinema or art gallery, seeing friends for lunch or a theatre trip have all but disappeared. These are what I need to inspire and cajole me along have gone for now. I'm probably not the only one to struggle creatively, it just feels like it some days.


Nevertheless, I still manage to write almost daily, working on my WIP. Sometimes it's a short paragraph, other days it may be a 1000 words or more. If not writing I'm thinking about my characters, plot and other details.


I've not long come back from a much needed two week break in Devon. Booked last year, long before Covid was a whisper, after months of uncertainty of whether it was going to be possible, we finally got to go on holiday. Never has a break been more needed! South Devon is beautiful and the weather did us proud. Sunny and warm with only the odd rain shower. Staying in the place where my WIP, My Absent Sister, is set was just the tonic I needed. I could double check the details of storyline with the location as I wandered around Dartmouth (I'm such a stickler and not least a planner).


Being away for those two weeks has been good for my mental health, affording me space and much needed perspective on my life right now. I feel refreshed and positive to take on the next 6 months and what it will throw at us all. As for my WIP, the first draft is coming along nicely.




Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page